My Classroom

As soon as I got my own classroom (after traveling for 3 years), I decided to make my bulletin boards red. Before I moved in, the room was kind of cold, and all the “decor” was covered in dust. The bulletin boards are huge, and so really difficult to work with. I’m sticking to paper for now, even though I’ve looked into fabric. Maybe fabric next year…right now, there are too many thumbtacks and staples to pull out! A friendly janitor surprised me by putting all red chairs in my room over the summer one year – and so it’s officially the red room.

The second thing I decided was that I wanted to make it look less classroom-y and more like a combination of homey and art gallery-y (I like to make up adjectives). And so, over the years, I kept the red, and the 8×10 photographs I’ve taken (in Greece, England, and of course the U.S.).

Last year I added the chalkboard-like classroom expectations and other informative signs. This year I added the quotation wall.

Every time I see something black and white, red, or gold, I am tempted to buy it for my classroom. I think I have a problem!

If I look too long at the black diamond border, I get annoyed at the crookedness, but I will only redo it if I'm feeling crazy again.
If I look too long at the black diamond border, I get annoyed at the crookedness, but I will only redo it if I’m feeling crazy again.
Found the vinyl table cloth at Burlington Coat Factory (I got two) and the red basket from Ross.
Found the vinyl table cloth at Burlington Coat Factory (I got two) and the red basket from Ross. The bright yellow numbers (on tray doilies from Hobby Lobby) represented my classes’ block numbers.

Quotation Wall #2

I love staring at this. The gold diamonds are this glitter gold fabric that I found in the felt section of Hobby Lobby. The quotes are on black cardstock with paint pens. I love paint pens.
I love staring at this. The gold diamonds are this glitter gold fabric that I found in the felt section of Hobby Lobby. The quotes are on black cardstock with paint pens. I love paint pens.
It still bothers me that the lettering isn't centered, but it's chalkboard marker, so I could probably redo the whole thing...if I'm feeling especially crazy.
It still bothers me that the lettering isn’t centered, but it’s chalkboard marker, so I could probably redo the whole thing…if I’m feeling especially crazy.
I love this arrow - found it at five below and used a bunch of stick-on magnets to get it to stick to white board. It lights up!
I love this arrow – found it at five below and used a bunch of stick-on magnets to get it to stick to white board. It lights up!
...and a little bit of the side.
…and a little bit of the side.
Class expectations and another motivational Avett quotation.
Class expectations and another motivational Avett quotation.
I didn't take a before picture, but trust me, it was bad. I didn't feel like sanding it down, so I covered it up. Love this Avett Brothers lyric.
I didn’t take a before picture, but trust me, it was bad. I didn’t feel like sanding it down, so I covered it up. Love this Avett Brothers lyric.
Students can get work they missed if they were absent.
Students can get work they missed if they were absent.
Desk numbers
Printed the numbers, painstakingly cut them out, glued them on red paper, laminated them, cut out the squared, and taped them on the desks. Desk numbers match with laptop numbers and other random stuff.

View from the back of the room

It's there...but the laptops still get put in wrong.
It’s there…but the laptops still get put in wrong.
Leave a Reply

